[LOCKED] EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

eac3to forked from madshi eac3to 3.36
User avatar
skull
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2023 7:58 pm
Location: canada

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by skull »

Curly wrote:
Thu Dec 28, 2023 5:35 am
@skull

Greetz. Do you know if videohelp just links our EXEs at DG site or do they host an actual EXE? If the latter we will need to let them know to update it, and maybe tell them about how we do the slipstream thing (new version only for new functionality, etc.). Thanks and I hope your holidays are going super dooper.
They host their own copy of the .rar file after grabbing from official location. For "hotfixes" / "slipstreams", I have to let them know. Would you consider updating the changelog when you make these smaller fixes? Could look something like this:

Code: Select all

- Fixed regression for .m2ts input file with subtitles exported out-of-sync (slipstream)
OR

Code: Select all

- Fixed regression for .m2ts input file with subtitles exported out-of-sync [2023-12-21-slipstream]
I let them know about updating v3.43 though. :)

UPDATE: Videohelp updated their hosted archive quietly to 12-28 version of eac3to v3.43.
User avatar
Curly
Posts: 716
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:05 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by Curly »

Thank you, skull. For future slipstreams I'll do that.
Curly Howard
Director of EAC3TO Development
User avatar
Curly
Posts: 716
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:05 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by Curly »

Guys, with madshi's help I've got the EAC3 display bug fixed:

Code: Select all

D:\Don\Programming\Delphi\EAC3TO>eac3to d:\downloads\eac3-7.1-bitstream-parsing-error-sample.mkv
Running in fast mode
Keeping dialnorm
analyze: 100%
MKV, 1 video track, 6 audio tracks, 5 subtitle tracks, 0:00:49, 24p /1.001
1: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
   "Main"
2: TrueHD (Atmos), English, 7.1 channels, 48kHz, dialnorm: -31dB, 31ms
   "Main"
3: E-AC3, English, 7.1 channels, 1024kbps, 48kHz, dialnorm: -31dB
   (core: AC3, 5.1 channels, 576kbps, 48kHz, dialnorm: -31dB)
   "Main"
4: AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48kHz, dialnorm: -31dB
   "Main"
5: AC3, Modern Greek, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48kHz, dialnorm: -31dB
   "Main"
6: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 320kbps, 48kHz, dialnorm: -31dB
   "Main"
7: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 320kbps, 48kHz, dialnorm: -31dB
   "Animators commentary"
8: Subtitle (PGS), Modern Greek, "Forced"
9: Subtitle (PGS), English, "SDH"
10: Subtitle (PGS), Modern Greek, "Main"
11: Subtitle (PGS), English, "Animators commentary"
12: Subtitle (PGS), Modern Greek, "Animators commentary"
I'm going to try to implement the -collapse option before giving y'all a test version. Maybe that will make it a bit more palatable to those who don't like seeing all the playlists, as well as reducing the size of the demux from the menu playlists.

Hope y'all aren't too hungover from last night!
Curly Howard
Director of EAC3TO Development
DAE avatar
m0ck
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2024 2:58 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by m0ck »

I added a delay to the AAC audio track, but instead of silence, eac3to introduced some static noise, which is very annoying. Why did this happen? I'm new to this app, but I expected it to insert silence when utilizing the delay feature. Here is how it sounds:

Code: Select all

https://soundcloud.com/m0ck-151651420/noise/s-5wgS7YEoed9?si=ffa91d6da6834344867d64db2637dbb3&utm_source=clipboard&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=social_sharing
Moreover, after introducing a +7 seconds delay, the audio, originally lasting 42:58, now extends to 33:39. It is possible that the output audio is not supported or there may be some other issue. Could someone please take a look? Here's the audio I'm attempting to delay:

Code: Select all

https://we.tl/t-RuFVwaiT3g
User avatar
Curly
Posts: 716
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:05 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by Curly »

Greetings, m0ck. Welcome to the forum.

Can you please tell me the exact command line you used for this operation? Thank you.
Curly Howard
Director of EAC3TO Development
DAE avatar
m0ck
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2024 2:58 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by m0ck »

Code: Select all

eac3to audio.aac output.aac +7000ms
I've tried with other AAC files, and there was no problem, so obviously there's something wrong with the input audio file.
I've attached the link in my previous post, so please have a look at it and check if everything is okay on your side when adding a delay of +7000.
User avatar
Curly
Posts: 716
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:05 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by Curly »

Thank you. Can you tell us where that audio file came from, was it cut, etc., everything you know about it?
Curly Howard
Director of EAC3TO Development
DAE avatar
m0ck
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2024 2:58 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by m0ck »

It's an audio track from a TV series downloaded from a VOD service. It was extracted from an MP4, and no alterations, reencoding, cutting, etc., have been made to the audio. Unless the audio was initially altered/poorly encoded, which I doubt, since it was downloaded (web-dl) rather than recorded (TV rip).
User avatar
Curly
Posts: 716
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:05 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by Curly »

How was it extracted? Can you give me the MP4?

7 seconds seems like a lot, pointing to some issue along the way.
Curly Howard
Director of EAC3TO Development
User avatar
Curly
Posts: 716
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:05 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by Curly »

There seems to be some doubt about eac3to AAC support, regarding which codecs are required, etc. I will ask madshi about it.
Curly Howard
Director of EAC3TO Development
DAE avatar
m0ck
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2024 2:58 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by m0ck »

Curly wrote:
Tue Jan 02, 2024 6:35 am
How was it extracted? Can you give me the MP4?

7 seconds seems like a lot, pointing to some issue along the way.
Whether it's 7 seconds or 1 second, the outcome remains the same: noise instead of silence and a flawed runtime. (Video: low quality for testing)

Code: Select all

https://we.tl/t-VdCakpEQ2Q
User avatar
Curly
Posts: 716
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:05 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by Curly »

OK. eac3to delays audio for AAC by just repeating the first frame, which is assumed to be silence. Most streams do start that way, but not all.

For such streams you can try using ffmpeg externally. These may help you to figure that out:

https://superuser.com/questions/982342/ ... ing-the-au
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/715 ... n-mp4-file
https://www.reddit.com/r/ffmpeg/comment ... dio_track/

You'll need a recent version of ffmpeg. Let me know how it goes. This could be incorporated into eac3to eventually, but first we have to upgrade the included ffmpeg, which will be difficult. :(

Beware:

That solution would probably work. Though, it may not modify the audio track itself (not sure about that), but instead perhaps it just modifies the timestamps in the container? Which is fine, but if you demux and remux, the delay may be lost. Let us know. ;)

:salute: madshi for guidance
Curly Howard
Director of EAC3TO Development
DAE avatar
m0ck
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2024 2:58 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by m0ck »

Curly wrote:
Tue Jan 02, 2024 7:14 am
OK. eac3to delays audio for AAC by just repeating the first frame, which is assumed to be silence. Most streams do start that way, but not all.
Yes, the video doesn't 't start with silence but this shouldn't be a problem. Can it be fixed?
Also, what about flawed runtime?

As for the rest.
Well, I was aware of such a method, but that doesn't do the trick.
I could achieve the same using, for instance, mkvtoolnix.
Here's why this is not ideal:
- the audio delay is not genuinely retained; after demuxing, the delay is lost.
- some older TVs don't respect such delays.
- even when watching on a PC, with substantial delays, for instance, +10 seconds, it takes time to calculate the delay when fast-forwarding the movie.
User avatar
skull
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2023 7:58 pm
Location: canada

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by skull »

Not saying it's the only solution here and can't be improved in eac3to (I'll leave that at Curly's discretion), but based on your use case (i.e. significant delay with true silence inserted), it may be more efficient and make more sense to use audio editing software to accomplish your goals.
DAE avatar
m0ck
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2024 2:58 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by m0ck »

Yes, I can do it without problems by editing the audio.
But I was just hoping to avoid encoding that's how I came across eac3to.
User avatar
Curly
Posts: 716
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:05 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by Curly »

m0ck wrote:
Tue Jan 02, 2024 8:09 am
Yes, the video doesn't start with silence but this shouldn't be a problem. Can it be fixed?
Also, what about flawed runtime?
I don't know the answers right now. If it can be fixed it will be very difficult. I'll add it to our to-do list but don't hold your breath.

Are you getting flawed run time with other files that do start with silence or just this one?
Curly Howard
Director of EAC3TO Development
DAE avatar
m0ck
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2024 2:58 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by m0ck »

I'm experiencing a flawed runtime after applying a delay specifically to this problematic .aac audio file.
Other audio formats and the .aac files I've tested appear to be fine after adding delays.
Evidently, the input audio is either corrupted or not fully supported by eac3to.
In such a scenario, I'll need to edit the audio using a third-party app.

I hope this issue can be addressed in the future, as eac3to is a great application. It seems I just had the misfortune of encountering an unusual .aac file.
DAE avatar
Trunks
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2023 8:59 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by Trunks »

How to start 2024? By having a new issue with the subtitles! lol

This time, it's for the movie JFK (1991). For some reason, Shout! Factory decided to have a seamless branching disc, although there is only one cut of the movie (director's cut) on the 4K Blu-ray.

The movie's length is 3 h 25 min 30 s 42 ms. There are three M2TS: 00000.m2ts+00001.m2ts+00002.m2ts. 00000.m2ts is 1 h 14 min 36 s 500 ms; 00001.m2ts is 1 h 23 min 59 s 500 ms; 00002.m2ts is 46 min 54 s 41 ms.

When you demux with eac3to, everything's good until 00001.m2ts. As you can see, there is a problem with the duration of the last line of the subtitles of the first M2TS.

Image

DGDemux has no problem with that, everything's good.

Image

The problem with eac3to only seems to be with the subtitles. The video, the audio and the chapters are good.

If needed, the two subtitles files: https://www.mediafire.com/file/mo92dc0q ... s.rar/file
User avatar
Curly
Posts: 716
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:05 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by Curly »

Darn. Please provide your eac3to command line and a link to purchase the disk. Thank you and Happy New Year.

I'm guessing it's this one but want your confirmation before dropping the $$$:

https://www.amazon.com/JFK-Collectors-U ... C89&sr=8-3
Curly Howard
Director of EAC3TO Development
DAE avatar
Trunks
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2023 8:59 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by Trunks »

Code: Select all

eac3to v3.43
command line: eac3to JFK 1) -demux
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Running in normal mode
Keeping dialnorm
M2TS, 2 video tracks, 3 audio tracks, 1 subtitle track, 3:25:30, 24p
1: Chapters, 13 chapters
2: h265/HEVC, 2160p24 (16:9), 10 bits
3: h265/HEVC, 1080p24 (16:9), 10 bits
4: DTS Master Audio, English, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz, dialnorm: 0dB
   (core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 1509kbps, 48kHz, dialnorm: 0dB)
5: DTS Master Audio, English, 2.0 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz, dialnorm: 0dB
   (core: DTS, 2.0 channels, 1509kbps, 48kHz, dialnorm: 0dB)
6: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48kHz, dialnorm: -27dB
7: Subtitle (PGS), English
Creating file "00000 - Chapters.txt"...
[a05] Extracting audio track number 5...
[a04] Extracting audio track number 4...
[a06] Extracting audio track number 6...
[s07] Extracting subtitle track number 7...
[v03] Extracting video track number 3...
[v02] Extracting video track number 2...
[v02] Creating file "00000 - 2 - h265, 2160p24.h265"...
[a04] Creating file "00000 - 4 - DTS Master Audio, English, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz.dtsma"...
[v03] Creating file "00000 - 3 - h265, 1080p24.h265"...
[a05] Creating file "00000 - 5 - DTS Master Audio, English, 2.0 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz.dtsma"...
[a06] Creating file "00000 - 6 - AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48kHz.ac3"...
[s07] Creating file "00000 - 7 - Subtitle (PGS), English.sup"...
[a04] Skipping identical DTS frames (seamless branching)...
[a05] Skipping identical DTS frames (seamless branching)...
[a06] Skipping identical AC3 frames (seamless branching)...
Video track 2 contains 295897 frames.
Video track 3 contains 295897 frames.
Subtitle track 7 contains 4666 captions.
eac3to processing took exactly 3 minutes.
Done.
And yes, your Amazon link is good.
User avatar
Curly
Posts: 716
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:05 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by Curly »

Thank you. Disk arrives tomorrow.
Curly Howard
Director of EAC3TO Development
User avatar
Curly
Posts: 716
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:05 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by Curly »

@Trunks

I've duplicated your issue with JFK. Investigating...
Curly Howard
Director of EAC3TO Development
User avatar
Curly
Posts: 716
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:05 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by Curly »

@Trunks

OK, I have it fixed in eac3to. I want to test a few other disks and then I'll make a 3.44 version with this fix and the EAC3 dialnorm parsing fix, probably tomorrow.

There is something strange in your DGDemux output. It doesn't match what I got. Can you re-download the very latest DGDemux from my site and run it again? Then post the result around the start of 00001.m2ts.
Curly Howard
Director of EAC3TO Development
User avatar
Curly
Posts: 716
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:05 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by Curly »

Guys, I put 3.44 online. I won't announce it yet until y'all try it. skull, please hold your fire with videohelp for now. Thank you.
Curly Howard
Director of EAC3TO Development
DAE avatar
HPotter
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2021 9:54 am

EAC3TO Bug Reports and Feature Requests Only

Post by HPotter »

Curly wrote:
Thu Dec 28, 2023 7:27 am
Sorry not gonna add an option to turn it off. Think positively, now you can look at the list and say, ooh there's the menu, ooh look, there's the FBI warning, ooh there's the main movie.
Too bad you don't want to made some switcher that could be show playlists like in 3.36.

But anyway here few bugs for "-minDuration=600" function.

So, in .ini -minDuration=600 for default and we don't see any playlists less than 600 sec / 10 min.

But, if we have some playlist less 10 min like 8 min and specify it in command line with direct path like:
eac3to "\BDMV\PLAYLIST\00006.mpls"

we will see nothing because it's not shown playlists less than 10 min, but in this case should be shown because it's direct path but not just disk playlists list.

Then, if I use in command line "-minDuration=100" for disk - I'll see this 8 min playlist, but I can't open it if I write those command with direct path:
eac3to "\BDMV\PLAYLIST\00006.mpls" -minDuration=100 1)

or with choosen from disk playlists list.

I'll see those message:
"Please specify the source and dest files first and then the options."

So, here promt command in command line useless and line from command line not owerride line from .ini and not main command, .ini still in charge here.

Here just one way to open this playlist: set in .ini file "-minDuration=100" and after that write command:
eac3to "\BDMV\PLAYLIST\00006.mpls" 1) or open it from all playlists list.
Locked