New UHD HDR monitor

Anything related to video and my tools that is not a support request.
User avatar
Sherman
Moose Approved
Posts: 334
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2020 10:19 pm

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Sherman »

Oh boy, DG bought us a new UHD HDR monitor for the main machine:

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/lg-27-ips- ... Id=6451083

Not the greatest monitor ever but quite adequate. Rocky said I could bring it up tomorrow on the 11700K/3090 machine. I'm hoping some of you guys can help me if I run into any gotchas. Stay tuned!

DG wants me to stay within $3000 or less for a UHD HDR laptop and he wants at least 400 nits, so I am still shopping. Lemme know if you have any suggestions.

Also, please send DG a PM saying I should be a moderator. Thanks!
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2221
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Rocky »

Hi Sherman!

Thank you for setting up the new monitor. Here is some initial feedback I have for you as a user.

1. It's much brighter in HDR mode. Not surprising. We can leave HDR permanently on in
Windows after adjusting the "SDR brightness" slider. SDR and HDR applications
work seamlessly.
2. Even with the greater brightness, the blacks are really black. That's something
that really torqued me about SDR. You want it brighter, you lose depth of blackness.
3. The resolution is way, way better. However, to take advantage of that I have to
pull the monitor closer to me. That's OK, however, I like it that way. Better, though,
for next time, would be to buy a much bigger monitor, at least 32". Maybe more.
4. There are new colors, and even Windows looks better in HDR.
However, the monitor has 8-bit with dithering. I am researching the significance
of that versus real 10-bit.
5. I'm now looking to display videos in HDR. Gotta get a media player that does that.
There are a few but our current players do not.
6. DG tools need to be enhanced to be able to pass HDR to the monitor. Currently, for
example, DGIndexNV uses win32 GDI. That will have to be changed to use DX12 for display.
Could be a fun project for you. You did such a great job on the cropping and free zoom
functionality.

Any pertinent info and tips from our members would be highly appreciated.
User avatar
Sherman
Moose Approved
Posts: 334
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2020 10:19 pm

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Sherman »

Hey Rock! Thanks for the feedback. I installed VLC, which plays HDR fine. I'll start looking at DX12 output.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2221
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Rocky »

You're my hero. Don't worry, I don't eat human flesh. :lol:
DAE avatar
Guest

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Guest »

MPC-HC will also play HDR, if you also install madvr.
You just have to set madvr as the video render engine and have it pass thru
I believe that MPC-BE will also do it
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2221
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Rocky »

That works. Thank you, Guest!
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2221
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Rocky »

If we were to do this again, I would like to get at least HDR600, 35", and with true 10-bit. But now we're talking circa $2000-3000.

BTW, DXGI code is ridiculously complex compared to GDI.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2221
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Rocky »

Here's a possible HDR600 32" compromise for circa $1000.

https://www.amazon.com/ProArt-PA329C-Di ... ics&sr=1-1

Reviews are not great. Maybe I'll look at TVs that can be used as monitors.
DAE avatar
Guest

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Guest »

Gamers like high refresh rates, that monitor is 65hz (weird refresh rate)
TV as monitor
I am not a gamer so that is the route I took
For my needs I use a 4K HDR tv as a monitor
Some examples
https://www.amazon.com/amazon-fire-tv-6 ... NrPXRydWU=
https://www.amazon.com/VIZIO-65-Inch-Ch ... 334&sr=8-9
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2221
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Rocky »

How do I put a 65" TV on my desk and sit in front of it?
DAE avatar
Guest

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Guest »

You can get smaller TVs or use a vesa mount on the wall and have the desk a couple of feet away
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2221
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Rocky »

OK. Now let me ask... Are there any TVs with true HDR (not 8 bit dithered), full UHD resolution, with nits >=600?
DAE avatar
Guest

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Guest »

true hdr --- yes
4k --- yes
nits
Screenshot 2021-11-08 at 11-06-17 Vizio V-series (2021) Budget TV with midrange features.png
from
https://www.cnet.com/reviews/vizio-m-7- ... 21-review/

EDIT
According to NVidia Control Panel
GPU>cable>AVR>cable>TV
color depth.png
I believe the display chain is good for 12 bit
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2221
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Rocky »

Thank you! 50" and up is too big. Since you are doing my research so well, can you find anything 35-43"? :salute:
DAE avatar
Guest

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Guest »

https://www.amazon.com/s?k=tv+4k&i=elec ... ion-type_1

Now it is up to Sherman to review models for performance, specs, price, where to get it in your area etc.

Note
At this size 600 nits is difficult to find
EDIT
Can't help with prices because the website sees my Canadian ip and is giving a huge delivery cost because of it
I believe that Vizio TVs are pretty good, I own one.

Have Sherm check this one out
https://www.amazon.com/VIZIO-Quantum-Cl ... TELEVISION

Your other option
Wall mount the TV and use wireless keyboard and mouse
User avatar
Sherman
Moose Approved
Posts: 334
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2020 10:19 pm

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Sherman »

Thank you, Mr Guest. I'm finding candidates but they don't seem to want to tell the nits value. Gonna make some phone calls to the mfr's. That's manufacturers, not what you were thinking. :lol:

EDIT: Ah, here we go:

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-CG437K-Pbmi ... B07Z1212CQ
https://www.amazon.com/ASUS-PG43UQ-Comp ... B07Z1212CQ
DAE avatar
Guest

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Guest »

Check the prices on those things Sherman, DG might not be made of money
User avatar
Sherman
Moose Approved
Posts: 334
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2020 10:19 pm

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Sherman »

I'll settle for an arm and a leg.
DAE avatar
Guest

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Guest »

If you are not a gamer consider a TV
Go by the local brick and mortar and check out the image quality
User avatar
hydra3333
DG Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:34 am
Contact:

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by hydra3333 »

Sherman wrote:
Sat Nov 06, 2021 4:31 pm
Hey Rock! Thanks for the feedback. I installed VLC, which plays HDR fine. I'll start looking at DX12 output.
Um, would you be in a position to post any VLC settings you had to tweak from the defaults to make VLC play HDR and SDR media nicely once Win10 is set to HDR ?

If it works for you, I'd be thrilled to use VLC (instead of MPC-HC with madVR) as my default media player.

I have a 2060Super and a cheapie BENQ EL2870U monitor which is all I could afford, it's better than nothing.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2221
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Rocky »

We have version VLC 3.0.16. We didn't have to change anything; it works fine out of the box. We did have to adjust the Win10 SDR brightness slider. What problems are you experiencing?
DAE avatar
Guest

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Guest »

Hey Sherman, if DG is willing to give up an arm and a leg ( maybe one of two appendages as well)
check this one
ASUS ROG Swift PG43UQ
OOPS
that is one of the two you linked to
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2221
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Rocky »

We decided 43" is too big. Looking for 32" now...

https://www.amazon.com/ProArt-PA329C-Di ... ics&sr=1-1

Like you, Guest, we don't need the super high refresh rates. No gaming here.

More on brightness: The new monitor is supposedly 400 but testing shows about 380. And when I crank up the old monitor's brightness to max I get about 320. So, although the new monitor is nominally brighter, it's not earth-shattering. So now we want at least HDR600.
DAE avatar
Guest

New UHD HDR monitor

Post by Guest »

https://www.amazon.com/s?k=pc+monitor&i ... owse-bin_5
The ASUS, LG, and SAMSUNG monitors might be worth reviewing if you are willing to lower your nits requirement, which on a screen of this size isn't that bad
Again, cosider a 4K tv
Post Reply